Supreme Court Gets Full Complement Of 21 Justices

11 Justices were inaugurated to the Supreme Court bench yesterday, the apex court now has the full complement of 21 justices for the first time in history. Section 230 (2) (b) of the 1999 constitution stipulates that “The Supreme Court of Nigeria shall consist of such number of Justices not exceeding 21 as may be prescribed by an Act of the National Assembly.” Those who took their oath of office yesterday are Justice Haruna Tsammani; Justice Stephen Jonah Adah; Justice Jummai Sankey; Justice Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa; Justice Chioma Egondu Nwosu-Iheme, Justice Moore Aseimo A. Adumein and Justice Obande Festus Ogbuinya. Others include Justice Habeeb Adewale O. Abiru; Justice Jamilu Yammama Tukur; Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar and Justice Mohammed Baba Idris. Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) Olukayode Ariwoola urged the new entrants to see themselves as representatives of God on earth and that they will give account of their stewardship to God one day. He urged them to only be guided by the Constitution and existing laws and not be blinded by self-interest or extraneous influences in their decisions. Justice Ariwoola told them that have been on the bench and criticized before, they should expect criticism and verbal assaults from losing parties in cases they preside over.

Comment here

I accept the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy