PolicyThe NationTop Stories

Senate Confirms Olayemi Cardoso, 11 Other Cbn Mpc Members

The Senate yesterday confirmed the nomination of Dr. Olayemi Cardoso as Chairman of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN). Also confirmed for appointment as members of the committee are Muhammad Sani Abdullahi (CBN Deputy Governor), Bala M. Bello (CBN Deputy Governor), Emem Usoro (CBN Deputy Governor), Philip Ikeazor (CBN Deputy Governor), Lamido Yuguda, (Director General, Securities and Exchange Commission, SEC), Jafiya Lydia Shehu (Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance), Murtala Sabo Sagagi (CBN Director) Alloycius Uche Ordu, Aku Pullen Odukemelu, Mustapha Akinwunmi and Bamidele A. G. Amoo. The resolution of the Senate followed its consideration and approval of the report of its Committee on Finance, Banking, Insurance, and other Financial Institutions, led by Senator Tokunbo Abiru (APC, Lagos East), on the screening of the nominees. President Bola Tinubu had, on Wednesday, named Cardoso as Chairman and 11 others as members of the MPC.

Comment here

I accept the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy