Rule of LawThe NationTop Stories

Rotimi Oyedepo, Wahab Shittu on the list as 62 lawyers get SAN rank

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee (LPPC) has announced the elevation of 62 lawyers to the rank of senior advocate of Nigeria.

The LPPC is chaired by Olukayode Ariwoola, chief justice of Nigeria.

Sylvanus Tahir, Wahab Shittu and Rotimi Oyedepo are some of the notable lawyers on the list.

The list of the new SANs was released in a statement issued by Hajo Bello, chief registrar of the supreme court and secretary of the LPPC, on Thursday.

Fifty-three of those elevated are in the advocacy category while nine others in the academic category.

The SAN rank is awarded to members of the legal profession who have distinguished themselves as advocates and academics.

Those to be sworn in as SAN in the advocacy category are Mohammed Abubakar, Johnson Omophe, Lawrence Oko-Jaja, Christopher Oshomegie, Sanusi Sai’d, Wahab Shittu, Emmanuel Idemudia, Diri Mohammed, Oladipo Tolani, Ayodeji Omotoso, Chijioke Erondu, Ajoku Obinna, Yakubu Maikasuwa and Henry Omu among others.

The academics are Prof. Kathleen Okafor, Prof. Muhammed Abdulrazaq, Prof. Amokaye Gabriel, Prof. Ismail Olatunbosun, Prof. Abdullahi Zuru, former Dean, Faculty of Law at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Prof. Joy Ezeilo, Ass/Prof. Theodore Maiyaki, Prof. Olaide Gbadamosi and Ass/Prof. Chimezie Okorie.

The 62 lawyers will be inaugurated on November 21.

Comment here

I accept the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy